Artificial Intelligence in Data Mining by
Artificial Intelligence in Data Mining: Theories and Applications offers a comprehensive introduction to data mining theories, relevant AI techniques, and their many real-world applications. This book is written by experienced engineers for engineers, biomedical engineers, and researchers in neural networks, as well as computer scientists with an interest in the area.
Big Data, Big Design by
Big Data, Big Design provides designers with the tools they need to harness the potential of machine learning and put it to use for good through thoughtful, human-centered, intentional design. Enter the world of Machine Learning (ML) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) through a design lens in this thoughtful handbook of practical skills, technical knowledge, interviews, essays, and theory, written specifically for designers. Gain an understanding of the design opportunities and design biases that arise when using predictive algorithms. Learn how to place design principles and cultural context at the heart of AI and ML through real-life case studies and examples. This portable, accessible guide will give beginners and more advanced AI and ML users the confidence to make reasoned, thoughtful decisions when implementing ML design solutions.
Artificial Intelligence in Daily Life by
This book introduces readers to basic Artificial Intelligence concepts, and helps them understand the relationship between AI and daily life. In the interest of clarity, the content is divided into four major parts. Part I (AI Concepts) presents fundamental concepts of and information on AI; while Part II (AI Technology) introduces readers to the five core AI Technologies that provide the building blocks for various AI applications, namely: Machine Learning (ML), Data Mining (DM), Computer Vision (CV), Natural Languages Processing (NLP), and Ontology-based Search Engine (OSE).
Data Analytics: IoT
Internet of Things Security by
Most of the devices in the Internet of Things will be battery powered sensor devices. All the operations done on battery powered devices require minimum computation. Secure algorithms like RSA become useless in the Internet of Things environment. Elliptic curve based cryptography emerges as a best solution for this problem because it provides higher security in smaller key size compare to RSA. This book focuses on the use of Elliptic Curve Cryptography with different authentication architectures and authentication schemes using various security algorithms. It also includes a review of the math required for security and understanding Elliptic Curve Cryptography.
Big Data-Enabled Internet of Things by
The fields of Big Data and the Internet of Things (IoT) have seen tremendous advances, developments, and growth in recent years. The IoT is the inter-networking of connected smart devices, buildings, vehicles and other items which are embedded with electronics, software, sensors and actuators, and network connectivity that enable these objects to collect and exchange data. The IoT produces a lot of data. Big data describes very large and complex data sets that traditional data processing application software is inadequate to deal with, and the use of analytical methods to extract value from data. This edited book covers analytical techniques for handling the huge amount of data generated by the Internet of Things, from architectures and platforms to security and privacy issues, applications, and challenges as well as future directions.
Blockchain, Internet of Things, and Artificial Intelligence by
Blockchain, Internet of Things, and Artificial Intelligence provides an integrated overview and technical description of the fundamental concepts of blockchain, IoT, and AI technologies. State-of-the-art techniques are explored in depth to discuss the challenges in each domain. The convergence of these revolutionized technologies has leveraged several areas that receive attention from academicians and industry professionals, which in turn promotes the book's accessibility more extensively. Discussions about an integrated perspective on the influence of blockchain, IoT, and AI for smart cities, healthcare, and other business sectors illuminate the benefits and opportunities in the ecosystems worldwide. The contributors have focused on real-world examples and applications and highlighted the significance of the strengths of blockchain to transform the readers' thinking toward finding potential solutions. The faster maturity and stability of blockchain is the key differentiator in artificial intelligence and the Internet of Things. This book discusses their potent combination in realizing intelligent systems, services, and environments. The contributors present their technical evaluations and comparisons with existing technologies. Theoretical explanations and experimental case studies related to real-time scenarios are also discussed. FEATURES Discusses the potential of blockchain to significantly increase data while boosting accuracy and integrity in IoT-generated data and AI-processed information Elucidates definitions, concepts, theories, and assumptions involved in smart contracts and distributed ledgers related to IoT systems and AI approaches Offers real-world uses of blockchain technologies in different IoT systems and further studies its influence in supply chains and logistics, the automotive industry, smart homes, the pharmaceutical industry, agriculture, and other areas Presents readers with ways of employing blockchain in IoT and AI, helping them to understand what they can and cannot do with blockchain Provides readers with an awareness of how industry can avoid some of the pitfalls of traditional data-sharing strategies This book is suitable for graduates, academics, researchers, IT professionals, and industry experts.
The Internet of Things and Big Data Analytics by
This book comprehensively conveys the theoretical and practical aspects of IoT and big data analytics with the solid contributions from practitioners as well as academicians. This book examines and expounds the unique capabilities of the big data analytics platforms in capturing, cleansing and crunching IoT device/sensor data in order to extricate actionable insights. A number of experimental case studies and real-world scenarios are incorporated in this book in order to instigate our book readers. This book Analyzes current research and development in the domains of IoT and big data analytics Gives an overview of latest trends and transitions happening in the IoT data analytics space Illustrates the various platforms, processes, patterns, and practices for simplifying and streamlining IoT data analytics The Internet of Things and Big Data Analytics: Integrated Platforms and Industry Use Cases examines and accentuates how the multiple challenges at the cusp of IoT and big data can be fully met. The device ecosystem is growing steadily. It is forecast that there will be billions of connected devices in the years to come. When these IoT devices, resource-constrained as well as resource-intensive, interact with one another locally and remotely, the amount of multi-structured data generated, collected, and stored is bound to grow exponentially. Another prominent trend is the integration of IoT devices with cloud-based applications, services, infrastructures, middleware solutions, and databases. This book examines the pioneering technologies and tools emerging and evolving in order to collect, pre-process, store, process and analyze data heaps in order to disentangle actionable insights.
Internet of Things and Secure Smart Environments by
The main goal of Internet of Things is to make secure, reliable, and fully automated smart environments. However, there are many technological challenges in deploying IoT. This includes connectivity and networking, timeliness, power and energy consumption dependability, security and privacy, compatibility and longevity, and network/protocol standards. Internet of Things and Secure Smart Environments: Successes and Pitfallswill provide a comprehensive overview of recent research and open problems in the area of IoT research. Features: Presents cutting edge topics and research in IoT Includes contributions from leading, worldwide researchers Focuses on IoT architectures for smart environments Explores security, privacy, and trust Covers Data Handling and Management (accumulation, abstraction, storage, processing, encryption, fast retrieval,security and privacy) in IoT for Smart Environments It covers state of the art problems, presents solutions, and open research directions for researchers and scholars in both the industry and academia.
Data Analytics: Machine Learning
Machine Learning by
AN INTRODUCTION TO MACHINE LEARNING THAT INCLUDES THE FUNDAMENTAL TECHNIQUES, METHODS, AND APPLICATIONS PROSE Award Finalist 2019 Association of American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction offers a comprehensive introduction to the core concepts, approaches, and applications of machine learning. The author--an expert in the field--presents fundamental ideas, terminology, and techniques for solving applied problems in classification, regression, clustering, density estimation, and dimension reduction. The design principles behind the techniques are emphasized, including the bias-variance trade-off and its influence on the design of ensemble methods. Understanding these principles leads to more flexible and successful applications. Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction also includes methods for optimization, risk estimation, and model selection-- essential elements of most applied projects. This important resource: Illustrates many classification methods with a single, running example, highlighting similarities and differences between methods Presents R source code which shows how to apply and interpret many of the techniques covered Includes many thoughtful exercises as an integral part of the text, with an appendix of selected solutions Contains useful information for effectively communicating with clients A volume in the popular Wiley Series in Probability and Statistics, Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction offers the practical information needed for an understanding of the methods and application of machine learning. STEVEN W. KNOX holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics from the University of Illinois and an M.S. in Statistics from Carnegie Mellon University. He has over twenty years' experience in using Machine Learning, Statistics, and Mathematics to solve real-world problems. He currently serves as Technical Director of Mathematics Research and Senior Advocate for Data Science at the National Security Agency.
Data Analytics in Bioinformatics by
Machine learning techniques are increasingly being used to address problems in computational biology and bioinformatics. Novel machine learning computational techniques to analyze high throughput data in the form of sequences, gene and protein expressions, pathways, and images are becoming vital for understanding diseases and future drug discovery. Machine learning techniques such as Markov models, support vector machines, neural networks, and graphical models have been successful in analyzing life science data because of their capabilities in handling randomness and uncertainty of data noise and in generalization. Machine Learning in Bioinformatics compiles recent approaches in machine learning methods and their applications in addressing contemporary problems in bioinformatics approximating classification and prediction of disease, feature selection, dimensionality reduction, gene selection and classification of microarray data and many more.
Machine Learning for Dummies by
One of Mark Cuban's top reads for better understanding A.I. (inc.com, 2021) Your comprehensive entry-level guide to machine learning While machine learning expertise doesn't quite mean you can create your own Turing Test-proof android--as in the movie Ex Machina--it is a form of artificial intelligence and one of the most exciting technological means of identifying opportunities and solving problems fast and on a large scale. Anyone who masters the principles of machine learning is mastering a big part of our tech future and opening up incredible new directions in careers that include fraud detection, optimizing search results, serving real-time ads, credit-scoring, building accurate and sophisticated pricing models--and way, way more. Unlike most machine learning books, the fully updated 2nd Edition of Machine Learning For Dummies doesn't assume you have years of experience using programming languages such as Python (R source is also included in a downloadable form with comments and explanations), but lets you in on the ground floor, covering the entry-level materials that will get you up and running building models you need to perform practical tasks. It takes a look at the underlying--and fascinating--math principles that power machine learning but also shows that you don't need to be a math whiz to build fun new tools and apply them to your work and study. Understand the history of AI and machine learning Work with Python 3.8 and TensorFlow 2.x (and R as a download) Build and test your own models Use the latest datasets, rather than the worn out data found in other books Apply machine learning to real problems Whether you want to learn for college or to enhance your business or career performance, this friendly beginner's guide is your best introduction to machine learning, allowing you to become quickly confident using this amazing and fast-developing technology that's impacting lives for the better all over the world.
Automated Machine Learning for Business by
Teaches the machine learning process for business students and professionals using automated machine learning, a new development in data science that requires only a few weeks to learn instead of years of training Though the concept of computers learning to solve a problem may still conjure thoughts of futuristic artificial intelligence, the reality is that machine learning algorithms now exist within most major software, including Websites and even word processors. These algorithms are transforming society in the most radical way since the Industrial Revolution, primarily through automating tasks such as deciding which users to advertise to, which machines are likely to break down, and which stock to buy and sell. While this work no longer always requires advanced technical expertise, it is crucial that practitioners and students alike understand the world of machine learning. In this book, Kai R. Larsen and Daniel S. Becker teach the machine learning process using a new development in data science: automated machine learning (AutoML). AutoML, when implemented properly, makes machine learning accessible by removing the need for years of experience in the most arcane aspects of data science, such as math, statistics, and computer science. Larsen and Becker demonstrate how anyone trained in the use of AutoML can use it to test their ideas and support the quality of those ideas during presentations to management and stakeholder groups. Because the requisite investment is a few weeks rather than a few years of training, these tools will likely become a core component of undergraduate and graduate programs alike. With first-hand examples from the industry-leading DataRobot platform, Automated Machine Learning for Business provides a clear overview of the process and engages with essential tools for the future of data science.
Becoming a Data Head by
The authors have spent years in data trenches and sought to create a fun, approachable, and eminently readable book. Anyone can become a Data Head—an active participant in data science, statistics, and machine learning. Whether you're a business professional, engineer, executive, or aspiring data scientist, this book is for you.
Data lakehouse in action architecting a modern and scalable data analytics platform by
The book covers the practical implementation of the Data Lakehouse architecture in a cloud computing platform. It focuses on various ways to combine the Data Lakehouse pattern to realize macro-patterns, such as Data Mesh and Data Hub-Spoke, based on the organization's needs and maturity level. The frameworks introduced will be practical and organizations can readily benefit from their application.
The Cloud in IoT-Enabled Spaces by
The Cloud in IoT-enabled Spaces addresses major issues and challenges in IoT-based solutions proposed for the Cloud. It paves the way for IoT-enabled spaces in the next generation cloud computing paradigm and opens the door for further innovative ideas. Topics include Cloud-based optimization in the IoT era, scheduling and routing, medium access, data caching, secure access, uncertainty, home automation, machine learning in wearable devices, energy monitoring, and plant phenotyping in farming. Smart spaces are solutions where Internet of Things (IoT)-enabling technologies have been employed towards further advances in the lifestyle. It tightly integrates with the existing Cloud infrastructure to impact several fields in academia and industry. The Cloud in IoT-enabled Spaces provides an overview of the issues around small spaces and proposes the most up-to-date alternatives and solutions. The objective is to pave the way for IoT-enabled spaces in the next-generation Cloud computing and open the door for further innovative ideas.
Cloud Computing: a self-teaching introduction by
This overview of cloud computing in a "self-teaching" format, contains state-of-the art chapters with tips and insights about cloud computing, its architecture, applications, information on security and privacy, and numerous case studies. It includes questions for discussion and "Cloud Computing Lab Experiments" to help in mastering its complex services and technologies. Recent research shows that cloud computing will be worth billions of dollars in new investments. Organizations are flocking to the cloud services to benefit from the elasticity, self-services, resource abundance, ubiquity, responsiveness, and cost efficiencies that it offers. Many government and private universities have already migrated to the cloud. The next wave in computing technology--expected to usher in a new era--will be based on cloud computing. Features: * Explores the basic advancements in the field of cloud computing * Offers a practical, self-teaching approach with numerous case studies and lab experiments on installation, evaluation, security, and more * Includes material on ESXi, MS AZURE, Eucalyptus, and more.
Data Analytics: Data Mining
Predictive Data Mining Models by
This book provides an overview of predictive methods demonstrated by open source software modeling with Rattle (R') and WEKA. Knowledge management involves application of human knowledge (epistemology) with the technological advances of our current society (computer systems) and big data, both in terms of collecting data and in analyzing it. We see three types of analytic tools. Descriptive analytics focus on reports of what has happened. Predictive analytics extend statistical and/or artificial intelligence to provide forecasting capability. It also includes classification modeling. Prescriptive analytics applies quantitative models to optimize systems, or at least to identify improved systems. Data mining includes descriptive and predictive modeling. Operations research includes all three. This book focuses on prescriptive analytics. The book seeks to provide simple explanations and demonstration of some descriptive tools. This second edition provides more examples of big data impact, updates the content on visualization, clarifies some points, and expands coverage of association rules and cluster analysis. Chapter 1 gives an overview in the context of knowledge management. Chapter 2 discusses some basic data types. Chapter 3 covers fundamentals time series modeling tools, and Chapter 4 provides demonstration of multiple regression modeling. Chapter 5 demonstrates regression tree modeling. Chapter 6 presents autoregressive/integrated/moving average models, as well as GARCH models. Chapter 7 covers the set of data mining tools used in classification, to include special variants support vector machines, random forests, and boosting. Models are demonstrated using business related data. The style of the book is intended to be descriptive, seeking to explain how methods work, with some citations, but without deep scholarly reference. The data sets and software are all selected for widespread availability and access by any reader with computer links.
Be Data Literate by
In the fast moving world of the fourth industrial revolution not everyone needs to be a data scientist but everyone should be data literate, with the ability to read, analyze and communicate with data. It is not enough for a business to have the best data if those using it don't understand the right questions to ask or how to use the information generated to make decisions. Be Data Literate is the essential guide to developing the curiosity, creativity and critical thinking necessary to make anyone data literate, without retraining as a data scientist or statistician. With learnings to show development and real-world examples from industries implementing data literacy skills, this book explains how to confidently read and speak the 'language of data' in the modern business environment and everyday life. Be Data Literate is a practical guide to understanding the four levels of analytics, how to analyze data and the key steps to making smarter, data-informed decisions. Written by a founding pioneer and worldwide leading expert on data literacy, this book empowers professionals with the skills they need to succeed in the digital world.
Data Mining concepts, models, methods, and algorithms by
Presents the latest techniques for analyzing and extracting information from large amounts of data in high-dimensional data spaces The revised and updated third edition of Data Mining contains in one volume an introduction to a systematic approach to the analysis of large data sets that integrates results from disciplines such as statistics, artificial intelligence, data bases, pattern recognition, and computer visualization. Advances in deep learning technology have opened an entire new spectrum of applications. The author--a noted expert on the topic--explains the basic concepts, models, and methodologies that have been developed in recent years. This new edition introduces and expands on many topics, as well as providing revised sections on software tools and data mining applications. Additional changes include an updated list of references for further study, and an extended list of problems and questions that relate to each chapter.This third edition presents new and expanded information that: * Explores big data and cloud computing * Examines deep learning * Includes information on convolutional neural networks (CNN) * Offers reinforcement learning * Contains semi-supervised learning and S3VM * Reviews model evaluation for unbalanced data Written for graduate students in computer science, computer engineers, and computer information systems professionals, the updated third edition of Data Mining continues to provide an essential guide to the basic principles of the technology and the most recent developments in the field.
Big Data by
You'll learn about the creation of structured, unstructured, and semi-structured data, data storage solutions, traditional database solutions like SQL, data processing, data analytics, machine learning, and data mining.
Big data analytics methods: analytics techniques in data mining, deep learning and natural language processing by
Big Data Analytics Methods unveils secrets to advanced analytics techniques ranging from machine learning, random forest classifiers, predictive modeling, cluster analysis, natural language processing (NLP), Kalman filtering and ensembles of models for optimal accuracy of analysis and prediction. More than 100 analytics techniques and methods provide big data professionals, business intelligence professionals and citizen data scientists insight on how to overcome challenges and avoid common pitfalls and traps in data analytics. The book offers solutions and tips on handling missing data, noisy and dirty data, error reduction and boosting signal to reduce noise. It discusses data visualization, prediction, optimization, artificial intelligence, regression analysis, the Cox hazard model and many analytics using case examples with applications in the healthcare, transportation, retail, telecommunication, consulting, manufacturing, energy and financial services industries. This book's state of the art treatment of advanced data analytics methods and important best practices will help readers succeed in data analytics.
Data Analytics: Data Visualisation and Coding
Effective Data Storytelling by
Master the art and science of data storytelling--with frameworks and techniques to help you craft compelling stories with data. The ability to effectively communicate with data is no longer a luxury in today's economy; it is a necessity. Transforming data into visual communication is only one part of the picture. It is equally important to engage your audience with a narrative--to tell a story with the numbers. Effective Data Storytelling will teach you the essential skills necessary to communicate your insights through persuasive and memorable data stories. Narratives are more powerful than raw statistics, more enduring than pretty charts. When done correctly, data stories can influence decisions and drive change. Most other books focus only on data visualization while neglecting the powerful narrative and psychological aspects of telling stories with data. Author Brent Dykes shows you how to take the three central elements of data storytelling--data, narrative, and visuals--and combine them for maximum effectiveness. Taking a comprehensive look at all the elements of data storytelling, this unique book will enable you to: Transform your insights and data visualizations into appealing, impactful data stories Learn the fundamental elements of a data story and key audience drivers Understand the differences between how the brain processes facts and narrative Structure your findings as a data narrative, using a four-step storyboarding process Incorporate the seven essential principles of better visual storytelling into your work Avoid common data storytelling mistakes by learning from historical and modern examples Effective Data Storytelling: How to Drive Change with Data, Narrative and Visuals is a must-have resource for anyone who communicates regularly with data, including business professionals, analysts, marketers, salespeople, financial managers, and educators.
Interactive Visual Data Analysis by
In the age of big data, being able to make sense of data is an important key to success. Interactive Visual Data Analysisadvocates the synthesis of visualization, interaction, and automatic computation to facilitate insight generation and knowledge crystallization from large and complex data. The book provides a systematic and comprehensive overview of visual, interactive, and analytical methods. It introduces criteria for designing interactive visual data analysis solutions, discusses factors influencing the design, and examines the involved processes. The reader is made familiar with the basics of visual encoding and gets to know numerous visualization techniques for multivariate data, temporal data, geo-spatial data, and graph data. A dedicated chapter introduces general concepts for interacting with visualizations and illustrates how modern interaction technology can facilitate the visual data analysis in many ways. Addressing today's large and complex data, the book covers relevant automatic analytical computations to support the visual data analysis. The book also sheds light on advanced concepts for visualization in multi-display environments, user guidance during the data analysis, and progressive visual data analysis. The authors present a top-down perspective on interactive visual data analysis with a focus on concise and clean terminology. Many real-world examples and rich illustrations make the book accessible to a broad interdisciplinary audience from students, to experts in the field, to practitioners in data-intensive application domains. Features: Dedicated to the synthesis of visual, interactive, and analysis methods Systematic top-down view on visualization, interaction, and automatic analysis Broad coverage of fundamental and advanced visualization techniques Comprehensive chapter on interacting with visual representations Extensive integration of automatic computational methods Accessible portrayal of cutting-edge visual analytics technology Foreword by Jack van Wijk For more information, you can also visit the author website, where the book's figures will be made available under the CC BY Open Access license: https://ivda-book.de/
The Big Picture: how to use data visualization to make better decisions--faster by
In The Big Picture, top data visualization consultant Steve Wexler provides the tools for developing the graphical literacy you need to understand the data visualizations that are flooding your inbox-and put that data to use.
Better data visualizations a guide for scholars, researchers, and wonks by
Now more than ever, content must be visual if it is to travel far. Readers everywhere are overwhelmed with a flow of data, news, and text. Visuals can cut through the noise and make it easier for readers to recognize and recall information. Yet many researchers were never taught how to present their work visually. This book details essential strategies to create more effective data visualizations. Jonathan Schwabish walks readers through the steps of creating better graphs and how to move beyond simple line, bar, and pie charts. Through more than five hundred examples, he demonstrates the do’s and don’ts of data visualization, the principles of visual perception, and how to make subjective style decisions around a chart’s design. Schwabish surveys more than eighty visualization types, from histograms to horizon charts, ridgeline plots to choropleth maps, and explains how each has its place in the visual toolkit.
Hands-On Data Visualization by
Tell your story and show it with data, using free and easy-to-learn tools on the web. This introductory book teaches you how to design interactive charts and customized maps for your website, beginning with simple drag-and-drop tools such as Google Sheets, Datawrapper, and Tableau Public. You'll also gradually learn how to edit open source code templates like Chart.js, Highcharts, and Leaflet on GitHub. Hands-On Data Visualization takes you step-by-step through tutorials, real-world examples, and online resources. This practical guide is ideal for students, nonprofit organizations, small business owners, local governments, journalists, academics, and anyone who wants to take data out of spreadsheets and turn it into lively interactive stories. No coding experience is required. Build interactive charts and maps and embed them in your website Understand the principles for designing effective charts and maps Learn key data visualization concepts to help you choose the right tools Convert and transform tabular and spatial data to tell your data story Edit and host Chart.js, Highcharts, and Leaflet map code templates on GitHub Learn how to detect bias in charts and maps produced by others
|
