Introduction
Below are databases which provides search engine to find various drugs which are accessible free on the Internet. Some of them provide free mobile access.
Drug Resource Databases
📚 Drug-Related Resources
These databases provide comprehensive, reliable, and regularly updated drug information needed for your modules, clinical attachments, assignments, and lab reports.
💡 Best For: Tutorials, quick clinical reference, assignments
📱 Mobile App: Yes (iOS & Android – Free)
🌐 Website: www.medscape.com
Key Features:
- Covers over 15,000+ drugs, diseases, and procedures
- Drug interaction checker, pill identifier, dosing guides
- Regularly updated with evidence-based clinical guidelines
- Used in class discussions, presentations, and reference lists
- Easy access during clinical attachments and labs
💡 Best For: On-the-go clinical checks, drug safety, dosage
📱 Mobile App: Yes (iOS & Android – Free)
🌐 Website: www.epocrates.com
Key Features:
- Concise and accurate drug monographs
- Includes interactions, contraindications, pregnancy/lactation info
- Offers built-in medical calculators
- Highly recommended during clinical rotations and nursing practicals
- Supports offline access after download
💡 Best For: In-depth research, pharmacology projects, lab reports
📱 Mobile App: ❌ No app (Mobile-friendly website)
🌐 Website: go.drugbank.com
Key Features:
- Database of 500,000+ drugs and investigational compounds
- Detailed info on pharmacokinetics, clinical trials, drug targets
- Great for referencing in written assignments and presentations
- Used for lab-based modules and deeper pharmacological insights
- Continuously updated with latest trial and drug data
💡 Best For: Official drug label information, clinical safety references
📱 Mobile App: ❌ No app (Mobile-optimized site)
🌐 Website: dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
Key Features:
- Hosted by the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Contains FDA-approved drug labels
- Includes data on dosing, administration, overdose, interactions, and storage
- Reliable for clinical assignments and prescription-based research
- Ideal for referencing drug safety information in Nursing modules
When to Use These Databases:
- ✅ During Pharmacology tutorials and assignments
- ✅ While preparing presentations and lab reports
- ✅ During clinical attachments to reference drug protocols
- ✅ For researching drug mechanisms, side effects, and interactions
📝 Tip for Referencing:
Always cite your sources properly when using drug data. Include the database name, retrieval date, and URL in your references.
Below are NLB databases which cover articles related to drugs. Login to with NLB ID and password to access the articles.
ProQuest Public Health: is a new and unique database; designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text.
Proquest Health & Medical Collection: This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Proquest public health database: This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.