News Toolkit: NLB's Online News

NLB's Online News

___________

NLB’s Online News are provided free for all students (including PRs and foreign students which NP Library had helped to secure with NLB for all students on 14 June 2021). You need to be NLB member to access the online news. Login with your Member ID and account.  For new users, sign up to be a member of NLB.

 

NLB Membership:

• Free for all Singaporeans and PRs

• For foreigners who are students in IHLs, they can apply for a Basic Membership for free.

• Foreigners who are Passion Card holders at the point of registration may enjoy waiver of registration fee ($10.59).

Newslink

• Home access: 80 concurrent access

• Provide news articles in PDF and /or HTML format from SPH Newspapers (including ST Online).

• Archive is from Jan 1994 onwards for Chinese newspapers, and July 1989 onwards for English newspapers.

• News stories from the respective daily newspapers are archived and updated on the next working day after publication, except for weekend (i.e. Saturday, Sunday & Monday newspapers will appear on Tuesday), or unless otherwise stated. 

• Preferred browsers: Chrome and Edge. Not supported on Firefox.  

 

SPH Media Newspapers

• Format: eNewspaper (including ST Online)

• Covers collection of SPH Media Newspapers including The Straits Times, The Business Times, etc.

• Depending on the newspapers, access to previous issues varies from 7 to 13 days.

• Guide: How to access SPH Newspaper via NLB App.

 

Factiva

• Home access: Global news from international newspapers

• Covers collection of SPH Media N Access to selected titles (e.g. SPH Media’s titles such as The Straits Times) via Factiva is available in NLB libraries only.

 

NewspaperSG

• An online archive of Singapore newspapers. You can search the digital archive of newspapers published since 1827 to Dec 2017.

• See FAQ

 

PressReader

• Provides access to thousands of the world’s leading newspapers and magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages.

• Publications are presented as full digital replicas.

• Access to selected titles (e.g. The Edge, and SPH Media’s titles such as The Straits Times) via PressReader is available in NLB libraries only.

• Guide: How to access PressReader via NLB App.

 

ProQuest Global Newsstream

• Provides news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, wires, broadcasts, and websites in full-text format.

• With archives that stretch back into the 1980s