Cover Page
What is Full Stack
What is full stack development?
Full stack development encompasses the complete process of application software development, including both the front-end and back-end development. The front end consists of the user interface (or UI), and the back end handles the business logic and application workflows that run behind the scenes.
Full stack developers possess the skills and knowledge to work across the entire technology stack, enabling seamless user experiences and developing robust backends.
The front end: Crafting engaging user interfaces
The front end is the face of a web application, the part that users interact with directly. Full stack web developers possess a deep understanding of front-end technologies, including HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. They leverage these foundational languages to structure, style, and enhance the visual appeal of web pages.
Full stack developers also stay current with the ever-evolving front-end landscape, constantly exploring and mastering the latest technologies and frameworks. Whether it's harnessing the power of React to build dynamic and interactive user interfaces, leveraging Angular's robust features for complex web applications, or embracing the simplicity and flexibility of Vue.js, full stack web developers are well-versed in a wide range of tools.
The back end: Powering the application's core
Full stack developers are proficient in server-side languages such as Python, Ruby, PHP, and JavaScript, allowing them to build robust and scalable back-end systems. Back-end developers play a crucial role in designing and implementing the application's core functionality, handling data management, and ensuring smooth integration with databases like MySQL, MongoDB, or PostgreSQL.
Additionally, they possess the skills to write clean, efficient, and maintainable code that powers the application's back-end logic. Whether it's Python's simplicity and versatility, Ruby's elegance and readability, PHP's widespread adoption, or Node.js's event-driven architecture, full stack developers are well-versed in multiple programming languages and can choose the best fit for the project at hand.
Full stack developers: An increasingly important role
As the complexity of web applications grows, the role of back-end developers becomes increasingly important.
Full stack developers who excel across the stack are highly sought after by companies in many industries. They bring a comprehensive understanding of the entire web development stack, from the front end to the back end, and can drive the development of robust, scalable, and efficient applications.
Linkedin Learning
-
Advanced Python: Working with DatabasesTo create functional and useful Python applications, you need a database. Databases allow you to store data from user sessions, track inventory, make recommendations, and more. However, Python is compatible with many options: SQLite, MySQL, and PostgreSQL, among others. Selecting the right database is a skill that advanced developers are expected to master. This course provides an excellent primer, comparing the different types of databases that can be connected through the Python Database API. Instructor Kathryn Hodge teaches the differences between SQLite, MySQL, and PostgreSQL and shows how to use the ORM tool SQLAlchemy to query a database. The final chapters put your knowledge to practical use in two hands-on projects: developing a full-stack application with Python, PostgreSQL, and Flask and creating a data analysis app with pandas and Jupyter Notebook. By the end, you should feel comfortable creating and using databases and be able to decide which Python database is right for you.
-
Angular: Creating and Hosting a Full-Stack SiteYou've learned Angular and can create amazing front-end interfaces—but deploying them requires more than just Angular. You need logic running on the server, and a place to put that logic. If you want to apply your Angular skills to a broader range of projects—but you're not very familiar with server-side development—then this course is for you. Join instructor Shaun Wassell as he steps through how to build a full-stack, Angular-powered website from scratch. Shaun demonstrates how to create an Angular 9 front end and write a back end in Node.js using hapi. He then shows how to add MySQL to your back end, connect the front and back ends, add Firebase Authentication to your project, and move your full-stack application to the cloud.
-
Learning Full-Stack JavaScript Development: MongoDB, Node, and ReactLearn by doing! Learn full-stack JavaScript development by building a web application with MongoDB, Node.js, and React.js. Learn how to use Node as a web server and an API server, how to consume data and build user interfaces with React, and how to read and write data with a MongoDB database. React allows you to build full-featured, data-driven applications faster and more efficiently than what is possible with JavaScript alone. Samer Buna introduces modern JavaScript programming concepts, with an emphasis on functional methods and open-source tools. The lessons are almost completely hands-on, with live coding demonstrations that bring the concepts home.
-
Building Full-Stack Apps with React and SpringPairing a popular front-end framework with a full-featured back-end solution is a natural next step for developers who want to go “full stack”: building interfaces and the code that powers them. In this course, instructor Emmanuel Henri explains how to get a full-stack app up and running with React and Spring. He walks you through a complete sample project: a REST API with a form-based interface. Along the way, you can learn how to set up the project, define Spring models, create endpoints, and then build an interface from React components. Once you’ve completed the training, you can use the same techniques and technologies to build your own full-stack JavaScript and Spring applications.
-
Full-Stack Web Applications with Rust and LeptosA typical approach to web development involves building your application with JavaScript or a language that compiles to it. But there can be some compelling reasons to build your entire web application using the Rust programming language instead—both on the back end and the front end. In this course, join instructor Ken Kohlmann as he shows you how to use the Leptos framework to build a full-fledged web application using only the Rust language across the entire stack. Discover the advantages of building a full-stack web application in Rust, including how to build a front end that integrates with back-end server functions and how to use the SQLx crate to perform database queries. Along the way, Ken offers insights on important Leptos concepts such as signals, resources, actions, effects, and context.
-
Build a Lightweight Full-Stack Headless CMS Using Next.js, Contentful, and GraphQLWith the growing popularity and widespread use of headless architecture in web development, it is important for web developers to stay ahead of the industry curve. Headless architecture keeps the frontend lightweight and more optimized. In this course, software engineer and educator Dakota Fabro guides you through building for clients who prefer to use a CMS with their websites so that you can provide solutions that are lightweight and intuitive. Learn to use Next.js, Contentful, and GraphQL to create a site that uses headless architecture. Then complete a capstone project to help you practice what you’ve learned in the course. By the end of this course, you will be able to build and maintain headless web projects, and you’ll be able to apply the skills and knowledge acquired from this course in your current or aspirational role.
-
Emerging Web FrameworksIf you’re a full stack developer, you can’t ignore all the new and exciting frameworks that have emerged over the last few years. Frameworks can help you create apps and websites by simplifying the process and streamlining your entire workflow. In this course, LinkedIn Learning senior staff instructor Ray Villalobos shows you the latest features of some of the leading frameworks that are changing the industry for CSS and JavaScript developers. Get started with a few of the most important new CSS frameworks, such as CSS Pico, Pollen, Assembler, Open Props, and Windi CSS, an enhanced next-generation version of Tailwind, the utility-first CSS framework. Explore the latest and most exciting JavaScript frameworks as Ray walks you through the basics of Svelte, Next.js 3, Remix, and Astro, with tips and pointers along the way.
-
Complete Guide to AWS Software DeploymentJoin IT architect and instructor Brandon Rich as you embark on a journey from cloud fundamentals to full DevOps automation, starting with EC2 essentials for standing up secure, scalable architecture and moving to infrastructure-as-code with CloudFormation before diving into AWS’s deep set of code deployment options. Discover how to rapidly build an app stack with Elastic Beanstalk; deploy, scale, and automate in Elastic Container Service (ECS); and fully automate code pushes with CodeDeploy, CodeBuild, and CodePipeline. With the understanding you gain from this course, you'll be well on your way to deploying, configuring, and automating software deployment with greater speed and agility than ever before.
NP Library Resources
-
ASP. NET Core 5 and React
by
ISBN: 9781800206168Publication Date: 2021-01-08Build fully functional, cloud-ready, and professional web applications using the latest features in the .NET 5 framework and React.js with Microsoft Azure Key Features Explore the new features of .NET 5 with this updated edition of ASP.NET Core 5 and React Discover strategies for adopting a full-stack development approach, clean architecture techniques, and development best practices Learn how to manage data, design and package applications, and secure your web apps Book Description Microsoft's .NET framework is a robust server-side framework, now even more powerful thanks to the recent unification of the Microsoft ecosystem with the .NET 5 framework. This updated second edition addresses these changes in the .NET framework and the latest release of React. The book starts by taking you through React and TypeScript components for building an intuitive single-page application and then shows you how to design scalable REST APIs that can integrate with a React-based frontend. Next, you'll get to grips with the latest features, popular patterns, and tools available in the React ecosystem, including function-based components, React Router, and Redux. -
Programming the Internet of Things
by
ISBN: 9781492081418Publication Date: 2021-07-20Learn how to program the Internet of Things with this hands-on guide. By breaking down IoT programming complexities in step-by-step, building-block fashion, author and educator Andy King shows you how to design and build your own full-stack, end-to-end IoT solution--from device to cloud. This practical book walks you through tooling, development environment setup, solution design, and implementation. You'll learn how a typical IoT ecosystem works, as well as how to tackle integration challenges that crop up when implementing your own IoT solution. Whether you're an engineering student learning the basics of the IoT, a tech-savvy executive looking to better understand the nuances of IoT technology stacks, or a programmer building your own smart house solution, this practical book will help you get started. Design an end-to-end solution that implements an IoT use case Set up an IoT-centric development and testing environment Organize your software design by creating abstractions in Python and Java Use MQTT, CoAP, and other protocols to connect IoT devices and services Create a custom JSON-based data format that's consumable across a range of platforms and services Use cloud services to support your IoT ecosystem and provide business value for stakeholders
